Events Details

Red Brick Debate

Now’s your chance to experience the full-blown debating experience with Literary Symposium Desk’s first time ever online debate. Climb your way to the top by demonstrating your critical thinking and spur-of-the-POI argumentation.

Start with a video submission to move to the final round where you earn your way to being called the debating champions.

The Literary Symposium Desk is one of the landmark clubs at IIM Ahmedabad. It is the official club for all the debating, literary, and quizzing activities at IIM-A.

Qualification round - Turncoat round

Date : 27th, September
Time : NA

- Team size: Exact 3 members
- Team formation: A team can be cross specializations, year of study or campuses. A student cannot be a part of more than one team.
- Team cap: There is no limit on the number of participants from each college
- Eligibility: Only current college students (undergraduate, post-graduate or masters) are eligible to participate in the competition, including students pursuing an Executive MBA program
- Medium of debate: English. Participants are expected to be conversant with English since video submissions and debate will be conducted in English.
- School students not enrolled at any undergrad institute, and final year students who have already appeared for their exams or are yet to appear for the same owing to the COVID-19 pandemic, are not eligible for registration.
- The organizing team reserves the right to change the rules at any point in time and all decisions in the matter of eligibility, authenticity & final judgment will be with the Organizing Team.

Cash Prizes worth INR 20,000
First Position - INR 10,000
Second Position - INR 6,000
Third Position - INR 4,000

All finalists will receive a Certificate of Excellence
All participating teams will receive a Certificate of Participation

1. Qualification round - Turncoat round
Teams (3 members) submit arguments for and against a specified topic (turncoat format) in video format. Top 16 teams will be qualified to the final round.
Note: Details of the submission for the Turncoat round will be updated on 27th September 2020

2. Finals - Parliamentary debate
Top 16 teams fight it out in the Asian Parliamentary Debate (APD) to decide the winners. The debates in this round will be spread across two days.

Rishabh Shukla


Chaitanya Khanorkar


Click Here to Register

Last date for registration: 25th September 2020